Meet our new Head Boy and Head Girl

Demi and Lea tell us a bit about themselves and their plans in their new roles 

One minute Q&A with our new Head Girl - Lea Wessel-Aas

When did you join Charterhouse and from where?

I joined Charterhouse a year ago, entering the lower Sixth. For the previous eleven years, I was in school in Oslo, Norway, in Norwegian day schools.

What is your favourite subject/activity/what do you enjoy the most at Charterhouse? 

To me, the most enjoyable thing about Charterhouse, and the thing I missed the most during Charterhouse@Home, is the multicultural community of students and teachers. Unsurprisingly, my favourite subjects are the ones where we are taught about, and through the perspective of, various states and cultures; Global Politics, English (International) Literature and Economics.

What are you hoping to achieve in your new role as Head Girl? 

Last term, the Sustainability Committee made great progress with proactive, student-led projects and activities. Albeit the extra challenge of social distancing, I hope to see more societies with student-arranged activities, newsletters or other things that can engage and be enjoyed by the entire school community.

What do you enjoy the most outside of school? 

I love being outside, in nature and physically active. When I am at home in Norway, I love going with friends and family to the mountains, the forests or the sea.

What do you want to do when you leave Charterhouse? 

After this year, I hope to go to university and study an interdisciplinary course in social science. With a breadth of interests, I want to integrate economics, politics, psychology and sustainable development. However, with all the obvious uncertainties of this year, I remain flexible and open for alternatives to heading straight to university.

What do you want to do when you’re older?

That is a good question to which the answer alternates daily. I hope to participate and aid the green shift and sustainable development, in one way or another, with knowledge of international relations, decision-making under uncertainty and what drives and changes social behavior globally.

One minute Q&A with our new Head Boy - Demi Adedoyin-Adeyinka

When did you join Charterhouse and from where?

I joined Charterhouse in 2016. Before Charterhouse, I was at a prep school in Kent called Wellesley House and I was there for five years from the ages of 8-13. I joined Wellesley House from a primary school in Lagos, which is where I live.

What is your favourite subject/activity/ what do you enjoy the most at Charterhouse?

There are a multitude of things to do here at Charterhouse. I mainly play football and fives. I love playing those sports, but I would say the activity that I love the most is just being with my friends, whether that be in lessons, sports or in house. Regarding my favourite subject, I do three A-levels: English, History and Latin. I really enjoy those subjects, but I would say that my favourite is history primarily because it helps us to understand how the society that we live in came to be.

What are you hoping to achieve in your new role as Head Boy?

The School is going through a challenging period, both with the global circumstances and the numerous changes happening. My priority is to try and make sure that everyone is comfortable with these changes. Furthermore, there is still a lot more work to be done on creating a more welcoming environment for pupils of varying backgrounds and experiences. I want to particularly focus on racial discrimination. Hopefully this year we as a school can start to have more conversations around these difficult topics and make lasting change.

What do you enjoy the most outside of School?

When I am at home I like to relax and spend as much time as possible with my friends and family – particularly my family because since I live abroad, the only time I really get to see them is during the holidays. I love to read in my spare time as well.

What do you want to do when you leave Charterhouse?

After Charterhouse I would like to continue with my studies at University, and I wish to study law. I had considered the United States but since I have been going to school in the UK for a while, it seemed better for me to stay here. I would love to go to Oxford or LSE.

What do you want to do when you’re older?

After studying law at University, the most logical step after that would be to become a lawyer. However, I am still not certain if that is the route I would like to take. What I do know, however, is that any job where I can apply a law degree would be great.