Spotlight on Hector and Helena

Meet our new Head Boy and Head Girl 

One minute Q&A with our new Head Boy - Hector Platt 

When did you join Charterhouse and from where?

I joined Charterhouse in 2015 in the Fourths from Aldro. I joined Bodeites despite my father being in Saunderites in 1979. Aldro is just down the road in Shackleford making it a ‘feeder’ for Charterhouse, but I always knew that I would come to Charterhouse because of my father.

What is your favourite subject/activity/ what do you enjoy the most at Charterhouse?

There are a multitude of things to do here at Charterhouse. I play football and Fives predominantly and play the guitar as well as sing. Of course, I love doing all these things, but the thing I love to do the most is activities with friends. You are constantly interacting with friends here, which I do in playing football and Fives, going to Chapel, walking down Long Walk; ultimately everything you do throughout the day is with friends.

What are you hoping to achieve in your new role as Head Boy?

The school is going through a huge period of change at the moment. My main priority as I start my role is to make sure that everyone is comfortable as these changes occur. It can make a big difference as everyone is used to doing things in a certain way, however the school is moving in a very positive direction and the most important thing is that everyone is happy with that. Further down the line, I would like to make artistic aspects of the school such as Music and Theatre as popular as sport is. Every year there is huge support for football and sport in general, so to be able to make other aspects as popular as this would be a great thing.

What do you enjoy the most outside of school?

It may sound odd, but I recently passed my driving test and absolutely love driving. Although it is a simple thing, it helps me relax and get away from stress. Moreover, since a young age I have loved animals, in particular reptiles, which led me to owning a lizard and a tortoise. I look after these two at home which takes up a fair amount of my time, but it is very enjoyable. I also study English, so reading is a great hobby of mine too.

What do you want to do when you leave Charterhouse?

My passions are English and French, so I would love to study one of them if not both at University. I considered the States, but studying in the UK seems more suitable for me; I am considering St. Andrews or Oxford to study at next year.

What do you want to do when you’re older?

As is often the case, I wanted to be a footballer when I was younger. However, as reality kicks in, I have realised this might be a bit far-fetched. My passions have moved from football to English and French, so I would love to work as a journalist when I am older. If this takes me to France then that would be brilliant too. What I do know, however, is that ideally I would love to live in a place where Charterhouse would be accessible, so that things such OC Football and Fives would be easy to join and so that I could return with ease.

 

One minute Q&A with our new Head Girl - Helena Musk

When did you join Charterhouse and from where?

I came to Charterhouse as a first year specialist in September 2018. Previous to this, I was at a school in Oslo, the capital city of Norway, which is where I live.

What is your favourite subject/activity/what do you enjoy the most at Charterhouse? 

Considering I do the IB, which involves a multitude of subjects, it is hard to pick a favourite one. However, if I had to choose, I would probably say my favourite subjects are either politics or economics, both of which I find highly interesting and applicable to the real world. Regarding my favourite activity here at Charterhouse, it is hard to choose, but if I had to mention one it would probably be the Perception Society. Here we get to hear lectures on a weekly basis from external speakers, and it always impresses me the range of exciting speakers that Dr G is able to bring in.

What are you hoping to achieve in your new role as Head Girl? 

Pupil involvement in the school is an area I am hoping to contribute particularly to in my role as Head Girl. I wish to get more pupils even more involved in voicing their opinions, and bringing forward their ideas about how to further improve the school and the school community. Especially considering the immense amount of changes the school is currently going through, I think this is an extremely important area, and it is vital that the pupil body is able to express its opinions and ideas in a constructive manner.

What do you enjoy the most outside of school? 

When I’m at home I like to relax and spend as much time with my friends and family as possible. As I live abroad, I only go home in the holidays, and I therefore make an extra effort to see these when I’m at home. In addition to this, I enjoy activities such as reading, skiing and going to the gym.

What do you want to do when you leave Charterhouse? 

When I leave Charterhouse I intend to continue my studies at university, and I wish to study either economics or economics and politics. I am not yet certain I where I want to study; I am applying to both British and European universities, and hopefully I will make a decision throughout the year as to exactly where I will to go next year.  

What do you want to do when you’re older?

To be perfectly honest, I don’t have a clear opinion of what I want to do when I’m older. As I am interested in economics, and intend to study this at university, a job where I am able to apply this would be desirable. However, I also love travelling, and I would love a job where I am able to travel and experience new places and countries. 

 

Prospectus

Video Collection