The Governing Body

Outstanding boarding for boys and girls aged 13 to 18

Members of the Governing Body, along with short biographies, are listed below.

The Chair of the Governing Body may be contacted via Ms Lindsay Gowland, Clerk to the Governing Body, Charterhouse, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 2DX. E:

Members of Charterhouse School Governing Body


Vicky Tuck joined the Governing Body in 2019 and has extensive experience of school leadership and governance both nationally and internationally.  She was Principal of Cheltenham Ladies' College for fifteen years before taking on the role of Director General of the International School of Geneva. She is a former President of the Girls’ School Association and served as Vice Chair of the Independent Schools’ Council. Vicky currently sits on the Council of the GDST. Vicky was elected as Chair of the Governing Body in June 2019.

Ms Camilla Baldwin, MA

Ms Baldwin is the Founding Partner at Camilla Baldwin, a boutique family law firm based in Mayfair. After graduating from Cambridge University, she qualified as a solicitor and joined Withers. Camilla then served as one of the youngest immigration judges in England and Wales before setting up her own practice.  Her well-established firm specialises in advising international UHNW individuals in complex matters of family law and is dedicated to its pro bono work assisting women in prison. Camilla is a parent of three Old Carthusians, the youngest leaving in 2018, and she sits on the Pastoral Committee.

Mr Durell Barnes, BA

Mr Barnes is the Head of Governance and Compliance at RSAcademics. He is an OC and alumnus of the University of Oxford and is also the Chair of the Independent Schools’ Examination Board. Durell sits on the Pastoral Committee and Nominations Committee.

Mr James Bovill, BA

Mr Bovill is the Managing Director / Owner of Dawcul Limited and Dawcul Asia Pte Ltd. He is an OC, studied at the University of Durham and is a former professional cricketer.  Jim sits on the Nominations Committee and is Chair of the Board of Charterhouse Club Ltd.

Cllr Clare Curran, BSc

Mrs Curran has been the County Councillor for Bookham and Fetcham West at Surrey County Council since 2009 where she is the Cabinet Member for Children.  She was formerly a solicitor.  Clare is the Chair of the Pastoral Committee.

Professor Vince Emery, PhD, FSB

Prof. Emery is the Senior Vice-President Global and a Professor of Translational Virology at the University of Surrey. He is the Health and Safety Governor and sits on the Finance and General Purpose Committee and Academic Committee and is also Chair of the Board of Charterhouse International Ltd.

Mr James Goldsmith, BSC, MRICS

James Goldsmith is a Director at Savills UK Limited and Head of Strategic Investment Advisory with over 25 years’ experience advising predominantly international investors in respect of their strategies for UK real estate markets. He is an OC and studied at the University of Reading. James is Chair of the Projects and Planning Committee. 

The Very Revd Dianna Gwilliams, BA, MA

Reverend Dianna Gwilliams has been the Dean of the Diocese of Guildford since 2013. She has served as Chair and Vice Chair of Governors and Chair of Finance Committee at Southwark Diocese. She serves as a trustee of Guildford Cathedral Music Development Foundation. Dianna is the Safeguarding Governor for Charterhouse and sits on the Pastoral Committee.

Mr David Macey, FCA

Mr Macey is a Consultant at the Chartered Accountancy firm Saffery Champness, having previously been the Chair and a Partner at the firm with 30 years’ experience.  He is Chair of the Trustees of the British International Harmsworth Trophy.  David is an OC and a Trustee of the Carthusian Trust; he sits on the Audit and Risk Committee and the Investment Sub-Committee.  David is also Chair of Trustees for the Charterhouse Retirement Benefits Scheme.

Mr Pete Malcolm

Mr Malcolm is a serial entrepreneur and technologist, currently the Group Chief Technology Officer of EMIS Group plc, custodians of the medical records of over 40 million UK citizens.  The inventor of over 150 software engineering patents, Pete is also an Enterprise Fellow of The Prince’s Trust and a former Council Member (governor) of The Cheltenham Ladies’ College. Pete sits on the Projects and Planning Committee.

Mrs Lizzi Matthews, BSc

Lizzi Matthews is currently Headteacher of Broadwater School in Godalming. She is also a Designated Safeguarding Lead and has formerly worked in school improvement as a Specialist Leader of Education. Lizzi has spoken about the value of Philosophy for Children at local and national conferences having led Broadwater to a Sapere Gold Award. Lizzi sits on the Education Committee.

Mr John Olsen, BA

Mr Olsen is an OC and a graduate of Durham University.  He has spent his career in corporate reputation management consultancy and now acts as an independent adviser, with a particular focus on the education sector.  He served as a Governor of Halstead School for fifteen years, including ten as Chair.  He has a strong interest in young people’s mental health and wellbeing, and acts as a consultant to the Charlie Waller Memorial Trust, a mental health charity.  He sits on the Finance & Business Development and Nominations & Governance Committees.

Mr Charles Oulton, MA

Mr Oulton was a journalist on The Sunday Times and The Independent before becoming an English teacher and Housemaster at King’s Bruton. He is an OC and studied at St Edmund Hall, Oxford. Charles serves on the Pastoral Committee and is a Director of Charterhouse International Ltd.

Mr Andrew Reid, MA, MBA, FCA

Andrew Reid has recently retired as the Director of Finance of the University of Cambridge. Prior to joining the University he was with Cable & Wireless as Director of Finance, Global Businesses. His earlier career was with KPMG, before working with Jardine Matheson in Hong Kong. He is a chartered accountant and holds an MA in mathematics from University College, Oxford. Andrew serves on the Audit and Risk Committee and the Investment Sub-Committee.

Mr David Royds, BSc

Mr Royds is a Director at Novatia Financial and Britannicus Stone. He is a graduate of the University of Exeter and is an OC.  David sits on the Finance and General Purpose Committee and is Chair of the Nominations Committee, Charterhouse Enterprises Ltd and Charterhouse School Design and Build Ltd.

Calendar, Events & Term Dates

School Shop

Information for Parents

Charterhouse Terminology

Charterhouse Club