Girdlestoneites

Frederick Girdlestone (Old Carthusian) founded the House in 1874, having been associated with the School since 1853. He first became the Housemaster of Gownboys and on his move to Girdlestoneites persuaded a dozen Gownboys to join him in his new House. The ‘Duck’, as he was affectionately known because of his peculiar gait (hence the commonly used name of the House: Duckites), retired in 1912.

Originally a boys' House, Girdlestoneites will be welcoming girls from September 2023, becoming a coeducational House as part of a phased conversion to a girls' only House from September 2026. Over the following few years, both boys and girls will benefit from the experience of a coeducational boarding environment with some shared amenities and common rooms alongside the girls' and boys' only areas.

Girdlestoneites sits on an island site close to the main teaching buildings at the centre of the School.

 

Girdlestoneites House Colour